top of page

I Will Only be Standing in Swansea West in 2021. Thank You South Wales West.

On Friday 4th October, I made the opening speech at Plaid Cymru’s annual conference in Swansea’s Grand Theatre. I used my speech as an opportunity to outline the fantastic things Plaid Cymru have managed to achieve for the people of Wales, despite only being in Government as a junior coalition partner for four years from 2007-2011, and as an opposition party.

When my team and I have been knocking doors in Swansea, we’ve been asked, “What have Plaid Cymru ever done for us?” You might think, that having no councillors in Swansea, that we’d be hard pressed to find an answer, it’s true, we haven’t been able to deliver community events as we have in places such as Pontardawe, Ystalyfera, Cwmgwrach, Bryncoch and Neath Abbey, where Plaid run councils are delivering for their residents day in, day out. But, that doesn’t mean Plaid Cymru haven’t delivered for the people of Swansea, or the people of Wales, for that matter. Presumed consent organ donation, was a Plaid Cymru policy, it was a Plaid Cymru policy which ensured Wales was the first nation in these islands that now assumes a person gives consent for their organs to be donated, after they pass away. A medical school in Swansea, was Plaid Cymru policy, now, thanks to the Party of Wales, we are seeing new doctors qualify in this very city, and I was incredibly proud when my son Aled qualified from that medical school in 2014! Just two examples of how Plaid Cymru have delivered for the people of Swansea and for Wales, despite never having controlled the Government. The Swansea Bay and Western Valleys Metro, which would see public transport links between Swansea and the surrounding towns such as Ammanford, Pontardawe and Neath improved, re-opening the Amman-Tawe and Neath Valley lines, ensuring people are able to commute to employment and service centres quicker, and more efficiently, is a Plaid Cymru policy, another

example of how Plaid Cymru could improve our city.

I also used my speech to conference to announce that I will not be standing on the Regional List for South Wales West at the 2021 election. I will instead, be focussing all my efforts to winning Swansea West and ensuring this fine city that I am proud to call my home has an Assembly Member who will fight tooth and nail to ensure it reaches its full potential.

Under a Plaid Cymru Government, Cardiff will become the flourishing, European capital city we all know and want it to be. Cardiff is already home to our Senedd, and will be prime legislative and financial hub for an independent Wales. However, as we see in South Africa, with Cape Town, Pretoria and Bloemfontein sharing responsibilities, or the Netherlands, where responsibilities are shared between Amsterdam and The Hague. Swansea could, and should become the judicial capital of a new, independent Wales, ensuring that wealth and prosperity is not concentrated in one tiny south-eastern corner, as is the case currently within the British State.

It has been a pleasure and a privilage to serve the people of Gower, Swansea East, Neath, Aberafan, Bridgend and Ogmore in my four terms as an Assembly Member, but Swansea West is my home, and I am incredibly grateful to Plaid Cymru members in the constituency for putting their faith in me to be the candidate to win Swansea West for Plaid Cymru.

I am looking forward to the campaign over the next 18 months or so, and speaking to as many people as is possible, in every part of the constituency. With a lot of hard work, and a little bit of luck, we can ensure Swansea West turns green on the map of Wales in 2021.

Thank you South Wales West.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page